• Lorem ipsum
  • Dolor sit a met
  Please type in a Name of a Song, Artist or Youtube url to Search

Skull Pit Feat. Exumer, Church Of Misery Members: 'blood Titan' Song

Posted on April 09, 2017 by Saqila
82 out of 100 based on 833 user ratings
Loading music review ...
SKULL PIT Feat. EXUMER, CHURCH OF MISERY Members: 'Blood Titan' Song

On November 16, Metal Blade Records will finally release the self-titled debut album of the American/Japanese collaboration SKULL PIT.

SKULL PIT is a tale of two musicians from opposite sides of the heavy metal spectrum and the planet: Tatsu Mikami, hailing from Tokyo, Japan, is the bassist and mastermind behind the internationally acclaimed doom outfit CHURCH OF MISERY; Mem V. Stein, from New York, is the singer and frontman of German thrash pioneers EXUMER.

For a preview of SKULL PIT, the latest single, "Blood Titan", can be streamed below.

Mem comments: "'Blood Titan' is a straight-up stomper with a very recognizable chorus that could've been on MOTÖRHEAD's 'Bomber' album or any late '70s/early '80s NWOBHM record for that matter. We were very happy with the guitar tones on this song as they appear to conjure up the spirit of the late Fast Eddie Clarke."

Story continues after advertisement

The two veterans endeavored to combine their favorite elements of bands like MOTÖRHEAD along with the countless outfits of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal into one blistering and highly energetic nine-track album. The songs on SKULL PIT's debut are a clear departure from what EXUMER or CHURCH OF MISERY usually sound like. Stepping away from EXUMER's lighting fast rhythms and CHURCH OF MISERY's slowed down, Tony Iommi-inspired riffs, SKULL PIT creates melodies in the vein of '70s hard rock and '80s NWOBHM with Lemmy's punk attitude.

Mixed in Tokyo by O-mi Kihara, "Skull Pit" was recorded in New York and Japan during EXUMER's and CHURCH OF MISERY's time off from playing live around the globe. The result is a free-flowing album that switches effortlessly between genres and boundaries, but always with the intent to deliver a razor-sharp riff or a memorable hook.

SKULL PIT didn't shy away from further expanding its all-inclusive attitude when it came to choosing and recording a cover song as a bonus track: ROSE TATTOO's "All The Lessons". The song features Brian "Mitts" Daniels (ex-MADBALL), who produced Mem's vocal tracks in New York.

"Skull Pit" track listing

01. Double Cross
02. Roller
03. Fire Breather
04. Year Of The Dog
05. Soul Raiders
06. Blood Titan
07. Marauders
08. The Line
09. Wolf Spirit
10. All The Lessons (bonus track)